Book in Island-based mystery series hitting shelves

  Share this

NewslineToday    Gallery Enlarge Image Play Video

Posted By :Manju Shukla
Date  29/08/2017

The latest story in an Island-based murder mystery series will launch at the end of the month.

“Cod Only Knows”, the sixth book in the Shores murder mystery series written by Hilary MacLeod and published by Island publisher Acorn Press, will be launched on Aug. 30 at 6 the Sea View Community Hall.


The books are set in a small fishing village on P.E.I., inspired by Sea View, MacLeod’s summer home for the past 27 years.


The series began in 2010 with Revenge of the Lobster Lover, which won a CBC Bookie Award in 2011 for Best Mystery.


The author said the series is as much about the people and places as it is about the plot.


“The same characters inhabit the stories book after book,” MacLeod said in a press release.


Such characters include Gus Mack, the octogenarian quilter who sees everything that goes on in the village from her kitchen window, Hy McAllister, the “come-from-away” would-be sleuth who’s clumsy with corpses and Jane Jamieson, the by-the-book cop who is transforming into a maverick under the influence of the sea air, rural beauty and eccentricity of The Shores.


In this latest Shores book, “Cod Only Knows”, 90-year-old Abel Mack has gone fishing and gone missing. He’s been after a giant codfish that trails murder and mayhem in its wake

Latest News  

Archive | Contact Us | Disclaimer | Feedback | Gallery Copyright 2007-2017 Follow us